Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Baby, It’s Cold Outside…

Posted on: January 21, 2014


And likely to get colder as this new spate of polar air and snow sets in. In fact, this is a hearty soup for breakfast kind of day, which works because when I couldn’t sleep overnight, I made a big batch of soup. Not my usual formal recipe kind of soup, but a Use-Up-A-Few-Things soup.  This one had leftover pork shoulder, an older bag of 16-bean soup bean mix, the drippings (minus the fat) from the pork shoulder, some farro that needed using up, a can of beef broth a can of crushed tomatoes, a can of Ro*Tel, and one tomato can of water. Came out delicious. I’m planning to – when I package it for freezing and fridging – pull the pork out of one container, puree it in the NutriBullet, then add the pork back for a thicker soup, although I like it just the way it is. Heck, it’s cold enough that I’m seriously thinking of keeping the pot on the stove, and adding things over the course of the day, like some pierogies and some kielbasa. However, I’ll probably just do the pierogies and kielbasa separately for lunch.

Mostly, I’m waiting to call the hospital to postpone my consultation with the surgeon. Their office was closed yesterday, so I left a message, but I want to confirm the cancellation, and get a new date, preferably after the end of this cold spell. One of the things I found out over the last few months is that it’s much harder to travel when it’s cold like this, because the cold is likely to trigger the asthma on top of the heart issues. UPDATE: Appointment has been moved to next Tuesday, at 2 pm.

So, to catch up on my life since the 16th…

I’ve been reading, when I can concentrate enough. One of the books I was able to concentrate enough to read was Lawrence Block’s newest Bernie Rhodenbarr book, The Burglar Who Counted the Spoons, which I enjoyed greatly. It’s no secret that Block is one of my two favorite mystery writers (the other being the late Robert B. Parker), and that Bernie is one of my favorite series of Block’s. This one did not disappoint, and I recommend it to anyone who likes a good, NYC-based tale, with a witty protagonist and cool support characters,  full of sly humor.

 Mostly, though, what concentration I have is reserved for things like writing press releases, editing theses, etc. I need to get more work, but right now it’s a balancing act, and I hate not being able to push myself beyond a certain point. Other than that, I’m mostly online, talking to people, so that I’m not eating my own tail over the whole situation. The mostly good news is that I have adjusted to having had to cut my sister out of my life, even though I’m still very sad that I had to do so. On the other tentacle, my fannish sisters have let me know I’m not alone. The roomie continues to be as helpful as she can – running errands for me so I can conserve energy – being my voice on the phone when my voice gives out, etc. The odd thing is that my voice seems to be coming back very slowly, in fits and starts. There was a whole morning when I sounded like myself. I am hoping that this just means that I strained something, and my voice will eventually come back totally. One of the worst things about this whole mess has been losing my voice so badly. I have a hard enough time making myself understood when people *can* hear me; when they can’t, life becomes that much harder all around.

Most of my friends were at Arisia this past weekend, which I was glad to hear went well for all of them. However, one of my Boston friends had decided that – for various reasons – she would rather skip Arisia and come and visit both me and some of her family in the area. It was delightful to see her, and I wish we could have hung out longer, but we had the whole afternoon together, including lunch at my favorite Indian restaurant (roomie, friend, and me), and then the friend driving me to the fannish party I was going to that evening, since it was on her way to her family’s place. The party went well, and Marc drove me home afterwards, along with pretty much the rest of the guests.

Sunday was pretty quiet, except for a surprise: Amazon.com delivered the cookbook I had ordered (Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook, by Beth Hensperger  and Julie Kaufmann). Four different cooking blogs had recommended this book at different times, and I finally took the hint. I’m glad I did, too; I want to make everything in the book! In fact, I told Marc that I foresaw a lot of soups, stews, and braises in his future.

So, that’s where things are at for the moment. I’ve planned a warm pasta dish for dinner, based on a recipe I found on the Web: Northwest Edible Life’s Cabbage and Pasta with Mustard Cream Sauce. Sounds yummy, and both the roomie and I like cabbage. The roomie and I have been trying to cut down our meat consumption a bit, and this sounds just right for a hideously cold evening. Mind, we are not cutting meat out entirely, and I just downloaded a meat recipe from a friend that I will try when we can next get to the local market. One good thing about our local market, Silver Star on Nostrand Avenue, between Avenues Y & Z, is that it started out as a meat market/butcher. This means that the meat we get there is nice and fresh which is a wonderful thing.

See all of y’all in a couple of days, hopefully.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,842 other followers

