Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

I Rejoined Weight Watchers Yesterday

Posted on: September 1, 2012


I know that Weight Watchers is a program that works.  I lost 52 lbs on the try prior to the last one, and 77 lbs on the last try.  That I got sidetracked and went off program and couldn’t get back on is something I am not happy about, but it is what it is.

I left the program the last time just after they had implemented their Point Plus system.  That I left was no fault of the system.  OTOH, it does mean that when I chose to rejoin I had an idea of what I would need to do.

I am going with a friend; we were originally going to go back on September 6th, but Thursday night I messaged her to see if she was free to go on Friday, and she was.

We are going to a different meeting than we were last time.  Fortunately, our schedules are flexible enough that we were able to find a meeting by the leader we both like and find most helpful.

At Friday’s meeting, we discussed reasons for losing weight, looking beyond the reasons to our feelings, and about habits.

R asked us to take on a task for the next week:  Each day, write down the reasons we want to lose weight.  Any reasons that come to mind, no matter how silly, vain, or whatever.  He said we should probably spend about ten minutes a day doing this, and noted that after the first couple of days we would probably start editing the lists as we became aware of which reasons were important to us.  He then suggested that for the week following this exercise, we post the reasons wherever we can see them, so that we will internalize them more easily.

Of course, he noted that this exercise was totally voluntary.  I have decided to do it, though.

Here is my list from yesterday:

Why I Want to Lose Weight

  • Look better
  • Feel better
  • Be able to walk again
  • Get off cholesterol and blood pressure meds
  • Fit into my clothing (I got a ton of new clothing when I lost the weight last time)
  • Get rid of the cane
  • Prevent further nerve damage
  • Become a Weight Watchers leader
  • Eat less junk
  • Move toward flexatarianism
  • Control allergies
  • Have more energy

R also talked about how we know what awell-formed outcome is:

Well-Formed Outcome

  • Specific
  • Stated in the positive
  • Measurable
  • Within your control
  • A good fit with your life

Oh, a little housekeeping while I am at it…

When I joined Weight Watchers back in 2009, my starting weight was 271.8.  When I went into the hospital on June 23rd, it was 275.  When I went back to Weight Watchers on Friday, it was 262.4.  This means that I have kept off the weight I lost since going into the hospital — an achievement.

So, here are today’s reasons for why I want to lose weight:

Why I Want to Lose Weight

  • Be able to stop taking asthma meds
  • Be able to walk around the way I used to (3-5 miles a day, just for the heck of it)
  • Fit into my clothes
  • Get rid of or lower the blood pressure meds
  • Get rid of the cholesterol meds
  • Have more energy
  • Have less sleep apnea issues
  • Be able to do my own errands without needing a car
  • Be able to project a professional image, now that I am freelancing
  • Be able to wear things I design
  • Have more energy
  • Feel less depressed
  • Be able to use public transit easily

So, that’s where things are at for today.  I am tracking my food by using the eTools on the Weight Watchers website, and am already thinking of how to change up a couple of recipes I’m interested in to let me get the best points value for my food buck.

Leave a Reply

