Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Before I Lose This

Posted on: September 3, 2012


I found this page while doing some paper sorting, and figured that I wanted to make note of it here, before I lost it again.  It’s from Jaymie Meyer, CWP, ERYT500, from the Resilience for Life website.

Eating for Resilience

© Resilience for Life

Snacks Under 100 Calories

  • 3 cups popcorn, 23
  • 1 banana, 80
  • 1 apple, 80
  • 1 frozen juice bar, 75
  • 1 orange, 77
  • 1 hard boiled egg, 81
  • 1 cup V8, 50
  • 1 string cheese stick, 72
  • 8 dried apricot halves, 60
  • 20 frozen grapes, 60
  • 10 almonds, 70
  • 1/2 cup baby carrots, 70
  • 4 Hershey dark chocolate kisses, 98
  • 20 pistachio nuts, 70
  • 1 oz. Jack cheese, 90
  • 6 oz. non-fat yogurt, 86

Avoiding Pesticides (buy organic, if possible)

  • Highest Pesticide Load
    • Celery
    • Peach
    • Strawberries
    • Apple
    • Blueberries
    • Nectarine
    • Sweet Bell Pepper
    • Cherries
    • Kale
    • Lettuce
  • Lowest Pesticide Load (can buy non-orgainc)
    • Onion
    • Avocado
    • Frozen corn
    • Pineapple
    • Mango
    • Frozen peas
    • Asparagus
    • Kiwi
    • Cabbage
    • Eggplant

DVDs

  • Food Inc.
  • Super Size Me
  • Fast Food Nation

URLs

Free App:  Lose It! As those of you who have been around me for any length of time know, I have the opinion that just about anything can be made into a delicious salad.  There were certain exceptions to this, of course.  Having grown up in a nice, middle-class neighborhood in Queens, for me having steak of any kind for dinner meant a hunk of beef on a plate, with a potato or rice of some kind, and a vegetable.  If there was a salad, it was separate (in fact, served in a totally separate dish). In 1992, I made a writing friend online whose parents owned a bar in a suburb of Pittsburgh.  I was invited to come and visit her family, which I did, and was introduced to the wonders of the steak salad.  A steak salad, as made in Pittsburgh, consists of iceberg lettuce, onions, beefsteak tomato, hard-boiled egg, hot french fries, shredded cheddar cheese (directly on the fries so it melts), and slices of eye-round or strip steak on top of that. After that, I was a convert.  Of course, eating those particular steak salads is not something anyone should do an a regular basis.  However, that discovery led me to expand my ideas on what could go into salads.

Tonight, for example. I had a salad made of 4 oz. of chuck steak, brussels sprouts, a plum tomato, half an onion, 2 baby peppers, romaine, and some fat-free salad dressing.  It was yummy, and filled a serving bowl, so there is no way I could possibly be hungry between dinner and bedtime. Since I am on Weight Watchers, I should note that the whole meal was 12 points plus:  10 for the meat, and 2 for the salad dressing.

I did my write up exercise this morning, and got the following:

Why I Want to Lose Weight

  • Feel better
  • Get off or lower asthma meds
  • Get off or lower blood pressure meds
  • Get off or lower cholesterol meds
  • Better walking ability
  • Fit on my bicycle again
  • Look better
  • So that my exterior matches my interior
  • Wear my jewelry and knitting well
  • Fit back into my clothing

So, let me ask a question (assuming there is anyone reading who wants to play:  Why do you want to lose weight?

Leave a Reply

