Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Scrambled Egg Salad!

Posted on: September 10, 2012


 

On Friday, I was reading one of my favorite food blogs, The Kitchn, and came across a recipe for making egg salad with scrambled eggs rather than hard-boiled eggs.

Since it was just about lunchtime, I figured I would try to adapt it to be more Weight Watchers-friendly, and doable for one person.  Herewith, that tweak:

Deb’s Variation on Scrambled Egg Salad

  • 1 egg
  • 1 slice onion, chopped fine
  • 1 tsp Dijonnaise
  • 1 tsp mayonnaise (I would normally use fat-free mayo, but didn’t have any in the house)
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of pepper
  • pinch of dill
  • 2 slices of Arnold Healthful 45 Bread

Spray pan with non-stick cooking spray. Scramble the egg with a fork in a small bowl.  Dump the egg into the pan and scramble, stirring almost constantly, until the egg is cooked.  Put the egg back into the bowl, chopping it with your spatula to make sure it goes into small pieces.  Add the mayo, dijonnaise, salt, pepper, dill, and onion.  Mix well.  Spread on the bread (if you wish, you can toast the bread while making the egg).

This yielded enough egg salad for me to spread over both slices of bread.

POINTS PLUS VALUE:  3 if eaten plain; 5 if eaten with the bread

I’ve made it several times since Friday, both with and without the bread, and I can definitely see this becoming one of my “go to” breakfasts!  (In the variation in the photo, I scooped the egg salad into six baby portabella mushrooms, instead of putting it on bread.  I can also see mixing this with a can of tuna, to make a tuna-egg salad (yielding enough or two meals), or as part of a nice, egg & potato salad (also a two-meal yield).

For dinner on Saturday, I tried something a little different.  Had some small chuck steaks in the fridge, so I cut one of them into chunks, nuked a medium potato for five minuted then cut that into chunks.  I browned the meat in a frying pan, added some cumin, chili powder, and annatto and the potato.  After about a minute, I added about a cup and a half of  frozen veggies that I had thawed, and let that cook for about three more minutes, stirring so that the spices got distributed nicely.   It was good, but needed a little something else, probably coriander and some sliced up onions.

Yesterday, my ex, my roommate, and I hit our favorite all-you-can-eat sushi restaurants.  We were actually celebrating all of our birthdays, since medical considerations had caused us to miss two of the three, and the third is on Wednesday.  I managed to stay withing the bounds of my program, although I did dip into my 49 weekly points because one of the rolls I had was a Philadelphia roll, which has cream cheese in it, and a tempura scallop (which I counted as a tempura shrimp, since it did not list tempura scallops in my tracker database).

My birthday dinner consisted of miso soup, the aforementioned Philadelphia roll, a California roll, a spicy salmon roll, an Alaskan roll, and a rainbow roll.  Having been turned on to the delights of a mango kani salad (mango, crab stick, & mayonnaise) at a different sushi restaurant, I did not get my usual kani salad (cucumber, crab stick, & mayonnaise).  Besides, I can make it at home using less mayo, just like I do with my favorite Russian salads.  Of course, after such a magnificent sushi feast, I was not interested in dessert, so we headed home, stopping at one of our favorite produce stands to pick up a few staples for the week.

In other health-related news, I have begun taking the increased blood pressure medication, but don’t notice much difference in the swelling of my ankles.  Might be too soon to tell, might mean I need a different medication altogether.  Will keep trying until the first month’s worth are done, then check in with my doctor.

My questions today are:  What are your favorite cuisines when dining out?  What tips and tricks do you use to ensure smart choices?

Leave a Reply

