Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Friday Accountability

Posted on: October 5, 2012


It was a much better week than I had feared.

I lost 4 lbs. this week, for a total lost of 15.2 lbs., and a new weight of 247.2. I exceeded my weekly goal for the Countdown to Thanksgiving Challenge.

Walking was uneven, but pretty good when I did get out of the house:

Friday, 28 Sept:  3,808 steps

Saturday, 29 Sept:  797 steps

Sunday, 30 Sept:  3,741 steps

Monday, 1 Oct:  0 steps

Tuesday, 2 Oct:  0 steps

Wednesday, 3 Oct:  318 steps

Thursday, 4 Oct:  6,111 steps

I am now able to make it to the express bus stop near my house and to the meeting from the drop-off bus stop without having to stop to regain my breath.  To me, this is a major accomplishment!

Friday, after weigh-in, my friends Claudia, Sue, and I went to an artist talk at the Brooklyn Museum, where the artist led us through the exhibit of his work, and talked about his process and the various pieces in the exhibition.  Sunday, I went to the DUMBO Arts Festival with my friends Joanne and Marc, and we did a fair amount of walking around DUMBO, because the exhibit was all over the neighborhood.  Yesterday, I met my friend Abby, and we walked around midtown a bit after seeing a public artwork called Discovering Columbus.  So far, I have kept to my plan to at least double my daily steps average each month.

Today’s meeting was largely about finding ways to deal with the upcoming Thanksgiving holidays.  I know that this is a huge stumbling block for many people, although I’m lucky to not be one of them.

I’m not bragging here.  I am not a socially-triggered eater.  My downfall (at least until recently) has been that I am a stress eater.  Give me a stressful situation, and being alone to deal with it, and my pattern has been to go for comfort food to shove down the feelings.  But I live with a person who is bad with money and finances, so I know that one of the things I need to deal with this time around is to find ways other than eating to deal with the situations she continues to get us into.

At the meeting, we also discussed why tracking is important on this (or pretty much any other) program to lose weight.  Tracking lets you see what your eating patterns are, and helps you plan for upcoming events.  We looked at a sample tracker, and noted that there were things that could be done to change the eating habits reflected there to serve us better.

We also discussed a technique called SWISH, wherein you picture the unwanted outcome, larger than life, then picture the desired outcome, as small as you can, than switch the two mentally.  Since I am not a visual person, I suspect that this is a tool I won’t use very much, but it’s good to have in my arsenal.  I tend to process things aurally or kinesthetically, so I am much better off with tools like rehearsing or reframing.

Anyway, I want to get this posted this evening, since I will be out most of the day tomorrow — going on a bookstore crawl with friends in New Jersey.  Should give me a bit more walking under my belt!

How has your week been?  What challenges did you have to face?  If you did so successfully, how did you do it?  If not, how can you change what you are doing so similar challenges won’t defeat you in the future?  Further, can you let it go, and move on fresh the next day?

2 Responses to "Friday Accountability"

This week I actually have a loss; so I’m happy. The biggest difference was that I did a better job of tracking than I had in the weeks before. My biggest challenge this week was work stress and the office candy jar.

Hi Charlene! Welcome to my little corner of the world. I’m so glad that better tracking had a good result for you.

Yeah, work stress has always been a biggie for me — especially now that I work from home and my income is totally dependent on my efforts. I’m curious as to what your strategy for dealing with the office candy jar was.

Oh, and I stopped by your blog, and that buffalo chicken recipe you reblogged from wwearlybirds sounds really good! I subscribed to your blog in both WordPress and Google Reader, and I pinned the recipe on Pinterest (and shared it via Twitter and Facebook).

Leave a Reply

