Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

I Don’t Often Do This, But This is an Excellent Article about Tracking

Posted on: October 7, 2012


WWearlybirds's Blog

Kinda Tracking vs. Real Tracking

A core part of Weight Watchers is tracking. Studies (that have nothing to do with Weight Watchers) have shown dieters that write down what they eat are more successful than those that don’t (Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 7/2012 is the most recent). So are you good at tracking?

What about tracking are you proud of? Be proud if you track even 3 days a week. Some is better than none, but the more you track the more successful you’ll be.

What can you learn about you? You can see in black and white what your routines are, your habits and even your triggers. You can also track your exercise and your emotions at the time you’re eating.

How are you spending your points? Are you tracking your “BLT’s”? Our Bites, Licks and Tastes can catch up with us. If you don’t…

View original post 150 more words

7 Responses to "I Don’t Often Do This, But This is an Excellent Article about Tracking"

I don’t often reblog things, but this was just too excellent to not do so!

I couldn’t agree more with this post. Tracking keeps you on the straight and narrow! 🙂

It sure does. My kid sister gave me a plate full of chicken, meatballs, and pasta to bring home the last time I was at her house. Instead of the one or two meals I would have eyeballed it at, when I portioned it out, I had FIVE filling, nice dishes I could add lots of veggies to: First one – two meatballs and a cup of pasta; second & third – a piece of chicken and a cup of pasta; fourth – one meatball, the remains of the chicken and a cup of pasta; fifth (which is still in the fridge) – one meatball and a cup of pasta.

The other thing is that — for me, anyway — tracking actually makes eating turn out more economical, because I’m getting the right amounts of food at each meal, so what I cook becomes a greater number of meals.

Right on! Tracking, for me, cuts down on my meat intake big time. We now share one chicken breast. I try to stay within 3-4 oz. I’d rather use my points so many other ways.

So true about using the points for things other than the protein in a meal! Myself, I am trying to become more of a flexatarian, that is, I am trying to use meat, fish, and poultry as an ingredient, rather than the main focus of my meals. I find myself much more full after a plate that is 2/3 to 3/4 veggies and 1/4 animal protein than I ever did when the portions were reversed.

Leave a Reply

