Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Back from the Signing…

Posted on: October 18, 2012


…and let me tell you, carrying the book around should be considered part of an aerobic workout!  Lisa noted that the book weighed 3 1/2 lbs.  Lisa answered questions, raffled prizes (with help from Charlie the Tuna), signed books, and took pictures.

The goodie bags were nice — pink plastic Hungry Girl bags, filled with the following:

  • a 5.6 oz bag of Hershey’s Simple Pleasures Smooth & Creamy candies
  • a sample of Simply Snackin Dried Beef Sirloin with cranberries and blueberries
  • a Vitalicious Mini VitaCake in Fudgy Chocolate
  • a Weight Watchers Chocolate Pretzel Blast mini snack bar (I’ve had these, and they are delisious)
  • a 1 oz. pouch of Funky Monkey Freeze-dried Fruit in Jivealime (Pineapple with lime – I found them to be too sweet after the first few pieces
  • a 2.6 oz pouch of Starkist Tuna Creations Sweet & Spicy Tuna
  • a mini cookbook from House Foods for their Tofu Shirataki Noodles
  • a .8 oz bag of popchips (I got sea salt & vinegar potato chips)
  • a package of 6 Flatout Foldit Flatbreads
  • an 18 oz. plastic bottle of Bai5 Antioxidant Infusion (mine was Panama Peach), which claims to have natural caffeine, and to be Kosher, Vegan, Gluten & Soy free.  That needs to be chilled before drinking, so it’s in the fridge, waiting to be tested.

The extra goodie for being a Weight Watchers member was a note pad

Raffle prizes included tee shirts, a basket from Weight Watchers filled with goodies, a years’ supply of Vitalicious products, a Hungry Girl thermos, and a case of Bai5.

I promised  pics, so here goes:

The evening was fun, I got to do some walking, meet some nice folks while on line, and I got home at a reasonable hour What more can you ask?

If you get a chance to meet Lisa, you should definitely go.

6 Responses to "Back from the Signing…"

Wow! What a nice event! I can’t believe all those prizes in the goodie bag. That’s crazy! She must have a publisher with big pockets or maybe it’s WW that’s sponsoring her? I’m jealous! I’d love to do something like that…hmmm… Thanks for posting this – so nice to see the photos too! ~Karen

Thanks for the kind words, Karen.

Her events are always fun! Her goodie bags always have interesting things in them, and her raffle prizes are always cool stuff. I don’t know what part of the country you are in, but check her website to see if her book tour is swinging anywhere near you.

I’ll do that. Thanks! I’m a debut author, so still figuring out how to do these kinds of things and make them fun/interesting for people who attend. Did she read from her book or just talk?

Since the book was recipes, she did a question and answer session, then held the raffle, he did signing of books.

What kind of books do you write? I’m a short story writer, and an essayist. Never had the guts to tackle a whole book.

My memoir, Breaking the Code: a Father’s Secret, a Daughter’s Journey, and the Question That Changed Everything came out last year. It’s about my quest to figure out why my father, a WWII veteran, started having flashbacks more than 50-years after the war. I’m working on another memoir. I started with short stories too; articles and essays.

Just checked my library and they don’t have the book. Where can I find it? Sounds like a very interesting topic.

Leave a Reply

