Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Friday Again

Posted on: October 19, 2012


Today went well.  My friend, C, and I went to the Weight Watchers meeting at Kings Highway & East 12th Street this morning, because the weather predictions were for downpours, making travel into Manhattan and walking to the meeting messy.

I was very pleased with my results: 2.4 lbs. down, for a total of 18.2 lbs.  My new weight is 244.2.  I got the glitch in my eTools fixed today, so it now accurately reflects my weight (it was showing my starting weight from the last time I did the program).  C also lost a bit, but the details are her story to tell, not mine.

My walking for the month needs a little work, but that happens.  This week’s figures are:

  • 10/12:  2,865 steps
  • 10/13:  1,916 steps
  • 10/14:  1,030 steps
  • 10/15:  0 steps
  • 10/16:  0 steps
  • 10/17:  2,932 steps
  • 10/18:  1,709 steps

The good news is that I have been able to walk as much as six blocks at a stretch, although I have had to stop to catch my breath at least once.  Still it’s a longer distance than I have been able to achieve in a while.  Today, I also walked part of it without a cane, since it was raining and I was using my umbrella as an umbrella for that part of the walk.

Today’s meeting was about eating late at night — not a late meal because one is hungry, but the kind of mindless eating so many of us indulge in. Suggestions for dealing with this ranged from tracking the noshes so we can see what our patterns are; finding other things to do to keep us from eating because we are bored, or angry, or frustrated; and choosing something better to eat than what we were going for (say, have an apple instead of a handful of cookies).  We also discussed habitual eating versus emotional eating, and the eight week challenge designed to prepare us for the winter holidays/social season.  The leader gave us two recipes, one for an apple brown betty (using the WW raisin and honey bars) which I wasn’t terribly interested in, and one for a mini-cake (using cake mix, water, and the microwave) that I was interested in.

Herewith, Diane C.’s recipe for 3-2-1 cake:

  • Mix together one box of angel food cake mix and one box of chocolate cake mix in a large jar and keep in pantry or cupboard.
  • Mix together in a microwave safe mug or bowl three tablespoons of the powdered cake mix and two tablespoons of water.
  • Microwave for one minute, then let cool.
  • Eat.

According to Diane C., this recipe makes a mini-cake that has a Points Plus value of 2.

Her apple brown betty was made by:

  • Put a cup of unsweetened applesauce into a microwave safe bowl.
  • Break up one WW Raisin and Honey bar and mix into the applesauce.
  • Mix in one teaspoon of cinnamon.
  • Microwave for 1 to 1-1/2 minutes, then let cool until it’s at eating temperature.
  • Eat.

According to Diane C., the Points Plus Value for this is 3.

So, that’s it for today except for some questions to thin about:  Do you consistently eat after dinner is over?  Are you eating because you are hungry, out of habit (or boredom), or to stuff down emotions?  If you are on a food program, are you tracking those noshes?  What can you do instead of noshing?

2 Responses to "Friday Again"

Just a thought – when you are not able to go walking, due to weather, you can exercise indoors, while watching TV or listening to radio. Try using any two 16 oz. food cans as hand weights. If you find them tiring to grip, maybe you can knit or crochet a pouch with a handle to hold each one.

An interesting thought, Miriam. The thing is that, for me walking indoors is not worth the bother. And I don’t do cardio at this point. But if I ever start doing walking in an aerobic fashion, I do have both 1 lb., and 5 lb. hand weights in the house.

Leave a Reply

