Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Another Friday, Another Accountability Post (Part 2)

Posted on: December 2, 2012


Okay, so where were we?

Ah, yes.  Next thing to talk about is the meeting.

Salted Caramel Smoothie Pancakes:

Diana and another member talked about using the salted caramel smoothie mix to make pancakes.  You take one pouch of the smoothie mix, and add either one egg or three egg whites.  Then add a little water and whisk until the powder is completely dissolved, and the batter is smooth, and the right consistency for pancake batter.  Spray a bit of non-stick spray into a flat-bottomed pan or onto a griddle, and heat.  Add the mixture (either in one fell swoop to make one large pancake, or by the spoonful to make smaller pancakes) and cook as you would a pancake.  These cook pretty fast, by the way (I tried it Saturday), and taste really good with a little butter or a drizzle of sugar-free syrup (I used about 1 tsp of DaVinci’s Sugar-Free Amaretto Syrup).

We also talked about the updated information that Weight Watchers is going to be releasing over the next week, and a bit more about the ActiveLink device.  Then we were discussing “owning” your process, meaning realizing that whether you are choosing to make nutritional or non-nutritional food choices, you are the one choosing what to put into mouth.  We were also discussing the differences between a diet and a lifelong change of eating habits.

And I tried something new this morning.  Yesterday, while we were doing a grocery run, I picked up a box of Hodgson Mill Multigrain with Flaxseed and Soy Hot Cereal, since I was getting a little bored switching between oatmeal and Wheatena (Wheatena is a comfort food for me — Mom and Grandma both preferred Whetena and Maltex to Maypo, which was maple flavored, and I continued the trend).  The Hodgson Mill cereal is tasty and creamy, but with enough texture to be really satisfying.  Best of all, it had a really nice flavor — while I added about an eighth of a cup of fat-free half and half to my bowl, I tasted it without the half and half first, and it was yummy all on its own!    Given that flaxseed is known to help with some of the elimination issues I have, I definitely consider this cereal a major WIN!

Precious Stonewall (2010) by Jean-Michel Othoniel, photo © 2012 Deborah J. Wunder

Precious Stonewall (2010) by Jean-Michel Othoniel, photo © 2012 Deborah J. Wunder

I should be getting in some good walking today — visiting a museum with a friend to see two different exhibits.  The Brooklyn Museum is the permanent home of Judy Chicago’s The Dinner Party, a major feminist artwork, and my friend J has not seen it, although she had heard about it for many years.  The other exhibit is by a glass artist named Jean-Michel Othoniel, and I have seen it twice before.

Anyway, that’s my update to Friday’s post.  See you all on Monday!

 

2 Responses to "Another Friday, Another Accountability Post (Part 2)"

For fiber, you might also try kasha as a whole grain starch dish. Another trick is to put brown rice in water or stock & simmer it until it melts into congee (rice porridge). Also, I steam almost all of my cooked veggies in the microwave with a bit of water in Corningware or pyrex covered dishes from thrift stores.

I’m actually planning to have kasha when I wake up later. I haven’t thought of congee in a while, but it’s something I do love. The other grains, however, are 1 Point Plus less per serving, so I will save that for a week with fewer meals out.

We also steam our veggies, either in the roomie’s trusty steamer or in the microwave. I also like blanching them. And, when I have a bagel thin with lox, I use a spread made out of mashed up cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots instead of veggie cream cheese.

Thanks for the idea of getting Pyrex and Corningware from the thrift store…I have one four blocks away that I will check out.

Leave a Reply

