Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Back from Holiday Dinner

Posted on: December 26, 2012


First, I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday (if you celebrate) or a great Tuesday (if you don’t).

Dinner was better than I had expected.  Lots of good conversation, lots of quality time with some friends I don’t get to see all that often (and a few that I see on a regular basis), some brainstorming for a friend’s new project, and far too much really good food.

There were changes — as these go, there usually are — but everyone got fed, no one went hungry, there were yummy leftovers, and everyone had a great time.  As a bonus, I now have a living room where I can have company over when I want to, and the rest of the apartment is sufficiently clean that (while it would certainly fall short of my mom’s standard) I can have people over without having to apologize for.

The food:  The roomie made a turkey breast, roasted sweet potatoes, and her dirty mashed potatoes; I made my pistachio pie, my split pea soup and some chili; C made her broccoli/cauliflower mash, spaghetti squash, and butternut squash;  N made a glazed ham, stuffing, and one of the best green bean casseroles I have ever eaten (she made the mushroom soup for it from scratch!), as well as some lovely chocolate snaps; and R brought some lovely baked goodies.

Even better, I was totally able to stay within program, choosing to stuff myself with the veggies & protein and just sample things that I felt were not optimal choices for me.

As an extra surprise, C’s boss sent us a package of crackers (the kind you pull apart (with a loud popping noise) and a party favor, a paper crown, and some riddles and trivia come out.  We left the boss a fannish phone message of thanks,which we hope won’t shock her *too* much.

As often happens when I am around people, I forget to take pictures. I did, however take pictures of my now visible living room:

Kitt on the couch Entertainment Center Free Stuff Box & Holiday Tree Main bookshelves Dining table, Blocked Front Window, & Secondary Bookshelves

It was, all in all, a Really Good Day.

2 Responses to "Back from Holiday Dinner"

I’m very happy for you! There’s something very satisfying about cleaning and entertaining, all in the same week.
Season’s Blessings to you!
~~Joanne

Indeed there is, not the least of which was that it kept me going while waiting to hear whether or not my sister’s fiance would survive the stroke he suffered on Christmas Eve (he passed this morning).

And Season’s Blessings to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

