Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

The Gift of Points Plus

Posted on: January 8, 2013


One of the best things about the Weight Watchers program, in general, is that every week you get 49 Points Plus to use as you wish.

There are, of course, folks for whom not ever using them is a point of pride. For me, however, they are a tool, and a wonderful tool, that enables me to stay on program — even when I am hungrier than usual, or when there is a special occasion where the food might be different from my usual daily intake.

Today was one of those days. I tried a Rachael Ray recipe, Mini Muffin Spinach & Artichoke Bites. I ran it through the Weight Watchers Online Recipe builder, making adjustments for what I actually used, and it came out with two pieces equal to 4 Points Plus. They are yummy enough that I had four pieces for lunch, and two for a snack when it became obvious that dinner would be greatly delayed sue to a cranky oven, and an in-chicken timer that was refusing to pop out.

My version of Rachel Ray’s Mini Muffin Spinach & Artichoke Bites (yields 27 bites)

Ingredients:

  • 1 12-ounce bag frozen spinach, thawed *
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 2 14-ounce cans artichokes, drained and chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups biscuit mix
  • 1 cup milk
  • Nonstick spray
  • 3/4 cup Romano cheese, grated *

(* = my tweak to the original recipe)

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven 350ºF.
  • *Put cream cheese into the freezer for about 5 minutes to chill before chopping into a small dice.*
  • Wring out the thawed spinach in a dishtowel to remove excess liquid. Place spinach into a large mixing bowl along with the artichokes, Parmigiano, biscuit mix and milk. Combine all the ingredients then fold in the chopped chilled cream cheese.
  • Spray the mini muffin tin with nonstick spray then divide the spinach-artichoke mixture equally in the muffin cups. Bake for 12-15 minutes till puffed and golden in color.

Points Plus Value:  2 per piece

I also used up some fairly high-Points-Plus-value Slow Cooker Baked Potato Casserole that I had gotten a recipe for that was posted on Tablespoon by BevCooks. I did tweak it, but it was still potatoes, cheese, and bacon bits. Both the roomie and I loved it, and I wanted to use it up before it spoiled. (The recipe makes four 1-cup servings; we each had one serving two nights ago, and another tonight.)

I still have some weekly points left, although i will have to be a bit more watchful over the next few days. On the other hand, that I had the points to spend meant that I could enjoy some really good food, and more than once this week.

In other news, getting the house in order continues apace. And, yes, this is important, even here, because the better my living space is, the less frustrated I am, leaving me less likely to make unwise food choices.

So, again, thank God for Weekly Points Plus.  They enable me to still enjoy my life, and this journey, while continuing to be successful!

How do you handle special occasions/special foods/greater than usual hunger?  If your program allows weekly points (or an equivalent), do you use them to help you stay on track?  If not, why the resistance?

Leave a Reply

