Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Another Accountability Post

Posted on: January 11, 2013


This week has been fairly quiet.

Active Link:  I finally managed to earn 2 Activity Points on Thursday, which was great.  I really do need to get out more.  But I am feeling capable of doing it, so we shall see what the future brings.

Food:  There were a couple of days that I was really hungry, but I managed to keep within the scope of my points for the week by using my weekly points over the course of it.  I have been sticking with my intention of having my plates be 2/3 veggies/fruit and 1/3 protein.

Meeting:  Down .8 lbs. this week.  Not unhappy, because a) retaining solids again (sigh), and b) I had two big losses the last two weeks, so this is clearly just the body catching up with itself.

We are starting a new routine this week:  eating more fruits and veggies, and eating them consistently.  Since this is a change I have really committed to doing this year, I’m looking forward to it.

We have a member at our meeting who is very bad about everything.  Whatever the routine is, she resists it.  She is a bit older than me, and I know she was brought up to put everyone else before her, so I really try not to get too upset at her, but there are days I want to shake her and tell her that until she owns the process she will continue to have negligible results.  Since I eventually want to be a leader, I am trying, however, to sit back and watch how our leader deals with her.  I have to admit, however, that all of us have resistance at some point or another.  I know there are tons of changes that would turn my life around that I have resisted, even after having proof that they work.  For me, though, this year is about embracing those changes, and owning that they are the way I will go, no matter what works for others.  The changes I am embracing this year include 1) better tracking, 2) accepting that this program is a way of life, and not something I do until I lose the weight, then revert back to my old patterns, and 3) doing the self-work necessary to make the changes stick.

So, a couple of questions:  What changes in your life are you resisting making?  How would your life be different if you could embrace those changes?  What would need to change to enable you to embrace them?  Do you believe that taking ownership of the process (including upcoming changes) will make a difference in your life?

Leave a Reply

