Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Another Friday, Another Pound Gone.

Posted on: January 18, 2013


And that about sums it up. I lost one more pound, so my new weight is 235.6 for a total gone of 26.8 lbs. And I hit my 10% of body weight lost today, too.

At meeting we looked at pics of our fridges, and discussed what we could do to make them more plan-friendly. Here are the pics of my fridge, which is pretty plan-friendly, although there is always room for improvement:

As you can see, most of the things in my fridge are already portioned. And what isn’t portioned is either about to be or belongs to my roommate.

We also discussed the event in Baldwin, Long Island that my leader coordinated on Saturday, 12 January. She created a presentation with eight speakers, each of whom had lost over 100 lbs. It was truly inspirational, with the last speaker having lost 305 lbs! All the speakers credited tracking, portion control, and meetings as the main factors contributing to their success.

In fact, reflecting on it, the one thing that Weight Watchers has not really changed since their beginning is tracking. It is my experience that, over the years, this is the only aspect of Weight Watchers that research has not caused substantial changes to. Whether one was tracking Exchanges, as in the program’s early days, Points, or Points Plus, as we do today, the idea is the same: “If you bite it, you write it,” (to quote Lisa Lillien [Hungry Girl]).  It is also my experience that the more accurate my tracking is, the better my success is.

So, my commitment for the upcoming week is to keep improving my tracking, and also to keep getting more Power Foods into my daily plans.

Have you tried tracking your food each day? Weighing and measuring it? What were your results if you did? How did they compare to times when you weren’t tracking your food?
Leave a Reply

