Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

It’s Been Quite a Food-Focused Weekend

Posted on: January 21, 2013


After meeting on Friday, C and I headed back here where we had lunch and then baked the scones we heard about during the meeting. They were chocolate chip scones, and we had to make a tweak or two to the recipe, but they came out really good.

Fergie, Deb, & Claudia’s Chocolate Chip Cinnamon Scones

12 scones @ 4 Points Plus 

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup mixed angel food & devil’s food cake mix
  • 1/3 cup Splenda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 Tbsp cold butter, cut into bits
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 5 Tbsp orange juice
  • 2 Tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/3 cup water

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  • Cut in butter.
  • Stir in orange juice, vanilla extract, water, & chocolate chips.
  • Divide batter and shape into 12 scones, pressing each scone together lightly so that it adheres.
  • Place on baking sheet that has been sprayed with on-stick spray.
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes until top is crusty.
  • Let cool and enjoy.

M came over for dinner, so we had the roomie, M, C, and me. Dinner was a huge frittata, split four ways. It was stuffed with sausage, roast pork, shallot, red & orange peppers, spinach, and chard. Dessert was a scone each.

Saturday, I made another batch of lentil/quinoa burgers, because I really loved both the way they tasted and the way they kept me nice and full until my next meal. Saturday was also the third Saturday fannish thing in upstate Manhattan. T, one of the hosts, made met lasagna, while N made a three-bean & couscous casserole. T also made homemade tapioca pudding & homemade whipped cream to go with it. I had a bit of each and used up some of my weekly points, but it was well worth it.

Sunday was a quiet day at home, with grilled salmon, a baked potato, and brussels sprouts for dinner. I did bake another batch of scones — this time almond instead of chocolate chip — and I got 15 scones out of this batch, for 3 Points Plus each. I left out the cinnamon & vanilla extract, so they tasted more like scones than Friday’s batch.

Tonight will probably be meatloaf or hamburgers. The roomie will be making dinner, and I have no idea what she will feel like doing with the chopped meat she has thawing in the fridge.

What do you do when a weekend, rather than just one occasion, is food-focused? How do you arrange to stay on your plan? Or do you just declare a day off from it?

 

2 Responses to "It’s Been Quite a Food-Focused Weekend"

Hey, Deb. I don’t declare a day off, but I do track, even if I’m over. I know that overall, I average out — I’ve proven this to myself over and over.

re: Chocolate Chip Scones — the best ones I’ve ever had are from Elizabeth Alston’s book (one link: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/biscuits-and-scones-elizabeth-alston/1000241783). They really rock, and I think I need to figure out calories for mini scones from that recipe (using a small cookie scoop rather than my normal 1/2 c scoop). You’ve inspiired me!

Hi Matti! Welcome to my little corner of the world.

I’m glad I was able to inspire you! I have put Ms. Alston’s book on my Amazon wish list. (I tried to check it out of the library, but my library system doesn’t seem to have it.) I do look forward to trying the scones, though. Would you be kind enough to post the recipe as a reply to this, in case my other readers want to try it?

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

