Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Grateful for Crumbs

Posted on: January 25, 2013


Some days, crumbs are more than we think we deserve, especially with weight loss. Even though I went over my weekly Points Plus allowance this week I was down .2 lbs, for a total of 27 lbs. My current weight is 235.4 lbs. Given that I was over on Points Plus, I’m not displeased.

I will note that I did not go over my points on junk; I did it on Power Foods, so I am not overly worried. I have been watching out for my health. One thing I learned at meeting this morning is that the reason that almost everyone there reported feeling ravenous this week is that it was so cold. According to my leader, the cold forces the body to work harder to keep itself warm, so it requires more fuel to work properly. I had thought that my metabolism had been slowing down because I’ve become more indolent due to the cold. Live and learn.

Further, I tracked everything, so I was not fooling myself about what I ate at any level.

My new food for the day comes courtesy of my friend, V, who I met at meeting.  She has been talking about grits for a while now.  Being a “Nice Jewish Girl from New York,” I had somehow managed to miss having them before.  However, our leader pointed out that grits were a Power Food, and very filling. Last week, I bought some, based on V’s rhapsodizing about them, then promptly forgot to try them.  Thoroughly chilled after walking the one third of the block from where M dropped me off to my house, I decided to try what she had spoken about today. I microwaved the grits according to the package directions, adding a wedge of Laughing Cow cheese.  About three minutes before the grits were done, I added in some leftover chopped pork, and the remains of the steamed spinach from last night. The grits were perfect — cheesy, creamy, yummy, hearty (especially with the additions), and just the perfect texture to be heartwarming as well as filling. They carried me through from about 1 in the afternoon until dinner, which ended up not happening until about 9:30 p.m., due to various events. And I was so enchanted by them, that I made them as a side for dinner, introducing the roomie to them, this time with just the cheese and fresh steamed cauliflower! Again, delicious and filling! I am so delighted that V got me to step out of my familiar zone, foodwise!

Anyway, this post is short because I have several deadlines coming up really fast. See everyone Monday!

Leave a Reply

