Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Cheesy Shrimp and Grits

Posted on: February 27, 2013


Okay.  I had never contemplated grits, New York Jew that I am, until one of the women at my WW meeting started raving about them  When she did, and my leader pointed out that they were a power food, I figured I had to give them a try.

I’m glad I did.  In this cold weather, a nice  bowl of cheesy grits is just the kind of warm, comforting, stick-to-your-ribs food I crave.

Since I have no problem making breakfast my point-heavy meal of the day (because it sets up my energy for the rest of the day), I have no problem loading the grits with nice stuff.

Today’s edition was cheesy shrimp and grits:

  • 1/4 cup dry grits, NOT QUICK COOKING (today I used white, but I often use yellow)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 wedge Laughing Cow Light – Original Swiss
  • 3 oz. ready to eat shrimp
  • Dash salt

Thanks to microwaves, preparing grits is one of the easiest things you will ever do:

  • In a microwave safe bowl, add the dry grits, the water, the cheese wedge and the salt.
  • Microwave on medium (or half power) for 7 minutes.
  • Stir
  • Toss in the shrimp
  • Microwave on medium for 3 minutes or until thickened to your liking
  • Let stand to cool for a moment

This will keep you well filled until your next meal. (If you don’t want to spend so many points for breakfast, this also makes a fine lunch or relatively light dinner if you add in some chopped veggies.  My suggestions: okra, broccoli, corn kernels (not creamed), spinach, onions, chopped mustard greens, chopped swiss chard,  or mushrooms.

You can also swap out the shrimp for other proteins such as, beans, chopped up leftover roasted beef, chopped up chicken breast, chopped up ham, an egg or two, bacon bits, or even chopped up corned beef.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

