Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Weather-Related Eating

Posted on: March 6, 2013


It’s darned cold in the apartment today. It’s supposedly 41°F outside, but you couldn’t prove it by me. It’s raining and windy, and the weather report is predicting it will drop 2-4″ of snow later on. The Landlord gives heat in dribs and drabs, but even covered from chin to feet in heavy sweats and wool socks, it’s still cold in here.

The bad thing about is it I keep eating to try to get enough calories to get warm. When I get cold, I crave starchy foods and hot liquids — you know, the kinds of foods that stick to your ribs (and your hips if you aren’t careful).

The good news is that it’s only supposed to last another two days or so. The weekend (and into next week) is supposed to warm up, thank heavens.

In other “news,” I have been getting slightly better are meeting at least the base line of my ActiveLink, although I am still not earning Activity Points with any regularity. I shall continue working on this. I did change the position of the device from being hooked to my bra to being worn on a chain around my neck.

I’m trying to be kind to myself, but I’m really feeling impatient about getting my walking range back. I’m also trying to remember that a 60-year-old body just may not be as capable of bouncing back as fast as a 20-year-old body, and taking into account that I may need the cane for longer than I would like.

The good thing is that yesterday and today I have not needed to take a long nap in the middle of the day. I consider this major progress, since it means I might actually be able to meet my working deadlines.

All in all, things are nowhere near horrible, even though this weather-related eating may cause a small setback on my path. On the other hand, winter will not be here forever, so I can hopefully get back to doing some real walking soon.

I remain hopeful, at any rate…

6 Responses to "Weather-Related Eating"

veggie soup!!! LOTS of veggie soup with very few starchy veggies and beans.

Tried that – It helped for about half an hour. I’m guessing I’ll just have to ride this out, then get my tush back to work.

It’s not weather, per se, that triggers me, it’s the cold. If my body experience a low enough temperature any time during the day, I will crave hot starch and fat. Soup, stew, broth and teas are great, but like they used to say about Chinese food, you’re hungry an hour later. The best dodge that I have been able to fool my metabolism with is to use cooked vegetables, such as cabbage, cauliflower or spinach as a pasta substitute in soup or casserole and flavor it with some extra virgin olive oil right before eating. Even so, I still get cravings which I have to quell with a pint mug of tea and an ounce of cheese or teaspoon of peanut butter. I HATE BEING HUNGRY and it destroys my willpower against bingeing.

Oh, you are so right about the soup, stew, broth, or hot beverage only working for a short time. Cooked veg don’t really work for me, though — it’s the same as eating soup. In truth, I’m not going to stress about it. I will just get through the spell, and get back on track when I can. And, have no fear, I will get back on track. I really do not want another congestive heart failure episode.

the cold triggers me – I start opting for lots of hot tea 🙂

Yep. Hot beverages, hot soup, hot cereal — anything that will warm me up is good.

Leave a Reply

