Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

There are Smoothies, and There are Smoothies.

Posted on: March 18, 2013


Up until recently, the thought of smoothies made me blanch and shudder. However, they are one of my Leader’s favorite things and I figured I would give them a try.

Now, I pretty much hate yogurt.  To me, yogurt is like sour cream that someone has tarted up. So I tend to avoid it. Skim milk is not a favorite either, so I tend to use fat-free half and half in my coffee. But my Leader likes that the smoothies help us get our dairy in, so what to do?

Well, I love fat-free cottage cheese.  And I can drink diet ginger ale, because it is so processed that it doesn’t taste like soap to me the way most ginger does.

So I said, let me try something here.  I had, at her urging bought some of the WW smoothie mixes.  So, after dinner on Saturday, for my first smoothie, I took a banana, a cup of ginger ale, and the WW mint smoothie powder, tossed them into one of those plastic salad shaker cups, stuck my immersion blender into the middle of it, and hit on (while holding the cup with the other hand so it wouldn’t end up all over the counter.  It was delicious.  Not too sweet, with enough of the actual fruit bits left so it still tasted like the fruit, and smooth enough that I could drink it fairly easily. And I was full enough that I didn’t feel the need to snack at night.

Yesterday morning, I took a cup of mixed fruit from my fresh fruit salad, a WW smoothie mix in coconut, a cup of diet ginger ale, and a half-cup of fat-free cottage cheese. It left me nice and full until lunchtime. (Lunch was the remains of the sauteed vegetables I had gotten from the Chinese restaurant for dinner on Friday.)

This morning I was still interested, so I cut up a Granny Smith apple, and a banana and threw them into my cup with the cottage cheese and the ginger ale, and a Salted Caramel smoothie packet.  I think this is the best one so far!  You can really taste the fruit, it’s just sweet enough to be tasty but not cloying, and the cottage cheese gives it some nice heft protein- and dairy-wise. the best thing is that these are thick enough that I can’t gulp them down.  They get sipped at, and therefore are a slow burn energywise, which is probably better for me anyway.  And they are hella satisfying.

Today’s smoothie is 4 Points Plus; yesterday’s was 3 Points Plus; and Saturday’s was 2 Points Plus.

Now, I’m an old dog.  I’m not saying I’m going to have smoothies every day of my life.  What I am saying is that I now have another tool in my aresenal.

Leave a Reply

