Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Making a Seder

Posted on: March 25, 2013


Sundown is bringing the first night of Passover, and the roomie and I are making a small Seder (ritual & festive meal) for ourselves, my ex, and a friend, M (C was coming but is not feeling well, so she messaged me this morning that she couldn’t make it. Not entirely unexpected, given that I know she has been having health issues.

The ex requested brisket, and the roomie was agreeable.  We got a gorgeous brisket during the week, and this morning, we pulled out Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, and looked up brisket. Lo and behold, we actually had everything on hand, so the brisket just went into the oven.

We got one of the gefilte fish that you cook yourself. I like both that, and the regular jarred gefilte fish, but the ex prefers the homemade one, and it’s really nothing to make.  Unwrap the outer wrapper, remove the tray, boil some water, add a sliced up onion and a sliced up carrot, some slat (we used light salt) and some pepper, toss in the wrapped fish, bring the water back to a boil, simmer for an hour, cool, then refrigerate until dinner.

We will have matzoh (eating matzoh is a part of the holiday), and some juice (we are none of us big wine drinkers). I even, thanks to the ex, managed to find some high-fiber matzoh, and some matzoh made with rye (both kosher for Passover), so the commandment will not exacerbate some of my health issues. The veggies will be broccoli, cauliflower & carrot mix (we got a huge bag of that on sale the other week).  The roomie is doing the Seder Plate, and the charoset (a mix of apples, nuts, and wine [for us, grape juice]) can be done just before we sit down.

As for staying on program during Passover, I’ve never found it impossible.  Depending on how many weekly points I have when it falls, it’s generally pretty easy to stay within bounds. I do track, except for the two Seders, and though I don’t track those, I do keep an eye out and, when I do the one at home, I do weigh and measure my portions.

I also make sure to eat lots of fruit and veggies during the day. I know I will want to have a nice portion of meat at dinner, so I keep my points use down during the day by eating lots of salad.  Salad is my friend in general — it’s one of the few ways I can get the volume of food I need to feel full, while keeping my points usage to a minimum.

This morning, for example, I made an 8 Points Plus salad.  The only things in the salad that used points were the salad dressing, and the steamed dumplings I tossed in (I like one warm component in my salad). The rest of the salad was romaine, spinach, a tangerine that I sectioned and cut in half, and some baby bella mushrooms. It was hugely filling (I’m just now getting to my coffee), and it should hold me until dinner.

While we were doing prep for the cooking, we got the house vacuumed,, so all we have to do housework -wise is to move the spare computer from the dining table to the windowsill for the evening, and put the stuff for mailing Bookmooch requests in my room. We will only have to move two chairs into the living room, since we have two in there regularly.

So, everything is about as ready as it can be at this point.  Will let everyone know how the Seders went on Wednesday.

To those who observe Passover, please have a wonderful, safe, healthy holiday.

2 Responses to "Making a Seder"

Wishing you and yours Blessed Passover.

Thank you, and I wish you and your family a Blessed Easter!

Leave a Reply

