Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Wasabi is My First Line of Defense

Posted on: April 3, 2013


It’s been a crazy, busy day.

I got two good projects today, which are going to eat most of the next week.

The thing is, I started getting one of those stupid little tickles in the back of my throat yesterday evening. So this morning, I started doing what I always do when I have stuff threatening to become a sinus issue: I started eating wasabi.

The quest for wasabi finally ended up with me meeting two friends for dinner at a sushi restaurant called EAST, perversely located on West 55th Street, near 8th Avenue. The food was fabulous. I ordered several spicy rolls, some grilled sausage, some plum and shiso rolls (I shared those – the shiso was a bit too much like mint for me), some lovely green tea, and a mille crepe dessert with red bean ice cream.

However, the main reason for going to dinner was to get a good wasabi fix, to deal with my sinuses. For years, I have discovered that a good sushi meal, accompanied by plenty of wasabi, will usually head off the kind of sinus infection that the tickle at the back of my throat often portends. Unfortunately, it does not seem to be working tonight, so I’m glad I called and set up an appointment with my doctor on Friday morning.

Anyway, I must get back to work, so see everyone on Friday!

3 Responses to "Wasabi is My First Line of Defense"

Next time, use hot sauce, Hot peppers will clear your sinuses as fast as hot radishes and they are much higher in Vitamin C. I prefer ones that taste ‘fruity’ to those that taste vinegary, like Melinda’s or Dat’l Do It brands. Hot salsas now come in fruit versions. Make yourself a peach, pineapple or watermelon salsa with the hot sauce and get 2 birds with 1 stone.

Thanks, Miriam! I put a fair amount of hot sauce in things like eggs, so this is a good idea. Will try it when I make lunch in a few!

I not only had the hot sauce with my eggs for lunch (and it did seem to help a bit), I’m having hot and sour soup for dinner (our local takeaway makes it at about the limit of my “spicy” tolerance). I’m still planning to see my doctor tomorrow, though. Once you’ve had cellulitis as bad as I did, *any* infection can be dangerous.

Leave a Reply

