Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Food Bloggers Against Hunger 2013

Posted on: April 8, 2013


Unfortunately, I found out about this too late to join this year’s project. However, I would like to point all of you to my friend, The Enabling Cook, who posted about it here.

As someone whose income has been cut back so drastically that I had to apply for the SNAP (Food Stamps) program last year, I really want you all to know that no matter how well off you are, hunger can happen.  An illness, a job loss in this crappy economy…the effect snowball like crazy.  I went from earning over $56K a year to earning $33K a year, then to about half that when my job hours got cut in half, then to under $190 a month when I had to retire.  The roomie and I were barely hanging on, but when I got sick and couldn’t work to supplement that for the last six months of 2012, things kind of went to hell.  So, after much prodding by my sister and various friends, I swallowed my pride and applied for SNAP.  I hate being on it, but it does make the difference between eating crap all the time, and eating healthy much of the time.

Now, you guys know me well enough that you know I’m not writing this to look for pity.  Pity is a pretty useless thing in my book, as you well know.  But I am writing it to let you know that all of us — no matter how well we seem to be doing at any given moment — could be a few crises away from hunger.

Learn to be as self-sustaining as possible.  Learn basic cooking, if you don’t already know how.  Same for basic baking.  Homemade bread tastes a heck of a lot better than store-bought and is much cheaper.  Buy whole instead up pre-cut up.  Yes, getting a package of chicken breasts or thighs is nice and convenient. A whole chicken, roasted, will last you for several full meals, and then you can make chicken salad out of the remains.

If you are of a mind to, volunteer in a food kitchen, or your place of worship’s food for the poor program.  If you know someone who needs SNAP, gently get them to apply.  It is a life saver.

I know not everyone can do everything. But, as an old hippie freak, I sincerely believe that if we all do a little bit, it will go a long way.  Yeah, the only person you can really change is you.  I know that.  I also know that any good you can do in the world, you should.

Peace out.

 

Leave a Reply

