Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

That’s a Lot of Cabbage…

Posted on: May 14, 2013


I made my friend Sharane’s Bavarian Red Cabbage recipe on Sunday.  She found it in a recipe book and it was from an old actor named Walter Slezak. I have no idea what the copyrights on it are, but I did tweak it a little, so I will post my version here.

Bavarian Red Cabbage

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large head of cabbage, shredded
  • 2 pinches salt
  • 1 pinch pepper
  • 4 small or 2 large gala apples, peeled, cored, and cut into cubes
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsps flour
  • 1/3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 tsp nutmeg
  • 4 Tbsps brown sugar (I used Brown Splenda)
  • 2 Tbsps wine vinegar

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in your largest skillet
  2. Add the cabbage, salt, pepper, and apples. Saut for about five minutes.  Add the chicken broth and simmer with the lid on for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. While the cabbage is simmering, mix together the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, and vinegar thoroughly.
  4. When cabbage is done simmering, pour the mixture you made over it.  Stir thoroughly to mix, and heat for a few more minutes.
  5. Plate and serve.

While the cabbage was simmering, I heated a kielbasa in the microwave.  After plating the cabbage, I cut 1/3 of the kielbasa for the roomie, and another 1/3 for me.  I sliced up my 1/3, and mixed it into the cabbage, along with a bit of sour cream (the red of the cabbage reminded me of borscht, so I figured, “Why not?”).

It was delicious.  Had the last of the kielbasa for lunch today, and a bit more of the cabbage with the pork chops the roomie made for dinner.

The part that took longest was shredding the cabbage (I basically just hacked it into ribbons) and peeling and cubing the apples. I’m glad I did those two things before I started any of the actual cooking, though, or I would have been going bats trying to get it done in time.

Anyway, I must get back to editing — for some reason this particular job, which should be easy, seems to be kicking my tush.

 

 

Leave a Reply

