Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

“Mind of a Chef”

Posted on: May 20, 2013


I was watching the above program yesterday, and the chef they were profiling was David Chang.

Much to my surprise, one thing he was raving about was instant ramen.  He even produced a dish of the stuff with a homemade cheese sauce.  Needless to say, having a fondness for ramen I had to try it.

Deb’s Version of David Chang’s Ramen with Cheese and Black Pepper: Take one package of ramen, of the flavor of your choice (I used the last of the packages of chicken flavored ramen we had). Add one or two wedges of Laughing Cow cheese (I used the original Swiss flavor). Add black pepper to taste. Add one to one and a half cups of water. Microwave on high for three minutes. Stir. Microwave on high for another three minutes.  Let stand a few minutes to thicken. Eat.

Having tried it that way, I think it would work really well with konnyaku (yam) noodles), which would certainly be better for me than the pre-cooked packages of ramen because I could control the sodium better.  And konnyaku noodles don’t take very long to cook, either, so I shall have to think about it for future yumminess.

 

Leave a Reply

