Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Birthday Dinner for the Ex

Posted on: May 25, 2013


Wednesday was the ex’s birthday, but I was working and he had plans, so we got together with the roomie and a friend, H, for some good Indian food.

We love trying new places, and had actually been planning to try a new Mexican place in my neighborhood, but they were having their official Grand Opening last night, complete with mariachi band.  So, what to do?

Recently, the ex and I found a really great Indian restaurant here in Brooklyn, called Gandhi, about half an hour away by car, so we headed there (I could eat Indian food six days a week (the 7th day would be for sushi).

We ordered channa poori (spicy chick peas and a poori bread), a Peshwari naan (naan bread with fruit & coconut), and a plain paratha for the table. Soup was coconut for everyone but me – I had a wonderfully creamy, tomato-based mushroom soup. I love their coconut soup, too – it’s not overly sweet to the point of cloying the way some Indian places make it – but I wanted something different.

For main dishes, I had seafood korma, which was yummy, even though it had rosewater in it (rosewater and I do not get along). H had the mixed Tandoori platter; the roomie had tandoori shrimp, and the ex had tandoori salmon, which I really must order the next time we go there! It was delicious (he gave me a taste).

Dessert was easy. The ex and I had rasmalai – cheese patties in a sauce that is creamy and rich (and is the base for their ice cream, which we need to try one day). The roomie had the Indian rice pudding, and H had gulabjamon, which I used to love until I became sensitive to the rosewater in the sauce.

So, all in all, we had a very nice dinner, with great company.

Leave a Reply

