Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Add in a Summer Cold…

Posted on: August 21, 2013


Okay, so I’ve been off of the Furosemide for a week.

Today, my ankles are only the size of baseballs. Still, if the choice is swollen ankles or waiting to suddenly drop dead, I can live with the swollen ankles. I have stopped having to run to the bathroom every fifteen minutes, which is good, and makes things a heck of a lot easier.

I don’t seem to be having any side effects from the meds I’m currently on, which is good, too. I do seem to have a summer cold, which is annoying, but I did check with the pharmacist, and my medicine of choice, Coricidin HBP, is okay to take with the medicines I have for the heart issue.

Coricidin HBP Cold and Flu is 325 mg Acetaminophen and 2 mg Chlorpheniramine maleate (Chlor-Trimeton). It can cause drowsiness, but since I’m home most of the time, and I don’t drive, that’s not too worrisome. I started using it last winter for colds, given that I had high blood pressure, and it seemed wise.  Even better, it works really well at minimizing feeling crappy from cold symptoms.

I do have meds I take morning and night, and – over the next few entries – I will note and explain them, so that as things change in future, I can track them. That will help me remember any odd changes that I need to talk to the doctors about.

I suppose the first place to start is my normal blood pressure medication, since that is the thing that is most likely to change next.

Losartan HCTZ 100/25 is the generic for a medication called Hyzaar 100/25 (losartan potassium-hydrochlorothiazide 100/25 mg). This is what my BP meds were changed to when I left the hospital after the cellulitis in June 2012. It’s the one that Medicaid will pay for without having to jump through hoops with every prescription renewal. The reason this is likely to change is that the HCTZ is a diuretic, and right now the plan is to get me off all of the diuretics. We will have to monitor what happens to the blood pressure once we do that, since the potassium/HCTZ combination is supposed to work better than either of the drugs work solo.

The other change I have noticed is that my voice is starting to come back. Not full strength, and by no means all of the time, but already a noticeable difference. I still run out of breath while talking, but at least I’m starting to sound like myself, instead of like I’m overdosing on helium.

I’m starting to ease back into working and blogging again, but I am trying to be kind to myself until we have this stupid thing under control.

So, that’s where things are today.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

