Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Finally, Some Good News, Healthwise!

Posted on: October 3, 2013


As many of you know, I was scheduled for an angiogram on Monday.

To make things easier, I stayed at my sister’s house on Sunday night, since we were gonna have to leave for the hospital at 0-dark-30. Got to the hospital on time, and signed in. They took me pretty quickly, and the procedure was over by 10:00 am. However, they kept me flat on my back in recovery for four hours following that, so I didn’t get out of the hospital until about 2:30 — just in time for us to hit major traffic snarls in Manhattan. I managed to get her to the FDR Drive, which was the easiest way to get to the Brooklyn Bridge. Got home safe, did a little work, then went to bed.

The good news is that there are no additional issues to deal with, according to the doctor who did the angiogram. Given my family’s medical history, that was about the best news I could hope for. Next step is to see my cardiologist next Wednesday, and find out if the work can be done with a particular minimally invasive procedure, or if I will need full open heart surgery anyway.  Still I will take my good news where I can get it these days.

The dressing was kind of badly done, so although the incision area is healing fine, they managed to create a huge area at a skin fold that is chafed beyond raw. Fortunately, one of my friends is an LPN, and she has been coming over to change the dressing. This is working pretty well: I hold the skin taut, and she does the cleaning and bandaging. The alcohol to clean the chafed area stings horribly, but it sure beats getting an infection. Fortunately, I always have triple antibiotic cream in the house, so that goes on after the cleaning and before the bandage.

Spirit-wise, I’m doing mostly okay. I have times when the whole situation depresses me, especially not being able to speak in my normal voice. The cardiologist has a theory or two about why that is happening, and we need to check that out more before we do the surgery.

Fortunately, I do have some really good friends, who are making sure I don’t feel totally abandoned during the whole mess (I won’t mention names – you guys know who you are).

I am prohibited from lugging things for the next few days, so when I go out to head to dinner today, the computer will stay home for a change. It will feel weird, but better to be safe than sorry.

Anyway, that’s where things are standing at the moment. I’m in a waiting phase, but at least I know that things are not going to be the worst case scenario, which I was really afraid would be the outcome of the angiogram.

4 Responses to "Finally, Some Good News, Healthwise!"

Good to hear from you again! I found this blog entry from your tweet; Persis and Rachel had been helping to get word about your status out. Hopefully things will improve from here.

Gods, I am far behind. Glad you found me here. I’m still hanging in.

so glad to hear it as you know!

Thanks, Judy! Sorry to answer this so late, but my life has been kind of upside down lately.

Leave a Reply

