Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Starting a New Year

Posted on: January 5, 2014


First, sorry to be a day late, but adding the frigid temperatures to everything else, I spent much of the last few days huddled under my electric blanket.

Appropriate decisions have been made regarding the toxic family member, and things are being put into action to nullify future attempts to change my wishes and decisions about my health. I hated having to make some of them, but the truth is I don’t need a toxic person in my life ever, but especially right now when it appears I’m going to have to fight to get the appropriate medical care for my condition.

I have a ton of papers to fill out for my disability claim this week, and I even have a bit of editing to do, and a couple of knitting commissions to get my butt in gear on. These are good things, although I’m trying to wait a bit on the knitting because the state I’ve been in there is no way I could keep gauge, and I don’t want my work (both projects with fairly expensive yarns) to suffer.  But I can feel the urge starting up again, so that’s good.

The weather seems to have held the upstairsikehs in, along with most of the neighborhood. The kids are starting to get more rambunctious than usual. For me and the roomie, this generally means having our sleep disturbed at various early hours by thumping, pounding, and screaming, often followed by parental bellowing. The other problem is that, as most of us know, heat rises, so that this apartment is something of an icebox most of the day and night – not what is needed for my health.  But I have sweaters, sweatshirts, sweatpants, shawls, and the aforementioned electric blanket, so I am surviving.

The other bad news is that my tv has been “in the shop” since the 27th of December, which means my background noise is not there. I have a pretty extensive music library on the computer, but the problem is that I don’t tune music out the way I do tv noise. I’m wired to engage with music, so even if it’s an instrumental, my brain pays actual attention to it. Oh, well, I have survived without tv before, and I will this time, too. It just makes things a bit harder for me. Maybe someone can come over and show me how to hook up the old Mac I have sitting in the living room as a tv screen.

Anyway, I need to actually get some editing and writing done today, so I’m going to sign off now and try to do that.

Leave a Reply

