Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

…And I’m Home Again…

Posted on: February 23, 2014


Got home Friday, but was really too tired to think to write.

The thing is, neither my primary care guy, nor I, wanted me home until the cellulitis was thoroughly licked. However, the infectious diseases guy decided to switch me from intravenous to oral meds. Once that happens, there is no need for a hospital bed. As my physician, my primary care guy wanted to keep me in; as a hospital administrator, he’s kind of bound to follow the hospital’s policies, rather than fighting them. So, I’m home, on two antibiotics, and in my own bed again. OTOH, the food at home is a hell of a lot better. Follow up appointment is in place already; so I just have to reschedule the dentist, and talk to him about his timetable for the needed dental work, so I can then schedule the open heart surgery.

Of course, given that things often don’t run smoothly for me, I was not surprised when I woke up this morning with all the symptoms of a cold. given the two antibiotics, I wasn’t sure if I could use my standard cold remedy (Coricidin HBP Cold & Flu) safely, but it being Sunday, I knew no one is at my doctor’s office. However, I had downloaded Doctor on Demand, the new mobile “connect with a doctor” service started by Dr. Phil McGraw and his son. While the normal co-pay for the service is $40 for a 15 minute visit, until the end of February, all calls to the service are free (you do have to give them your credit information, though). I called, was assigned to a doctor within about 20 seconds, and the doctor not only answered the questions I had about using the cold meds with all the other meds I’m taking, he was able to give me a little reassurance about where and with whom I am having the open heart surgery done. Again, I don’t expect to be using them often, because I do have excellent Real Life physicians, but I can see where this is a very useful backup for when those physicians are not available. It can be downloaded for both iPhone and Android devices, and – whether you like or hate Dr. Phil – is a useful thing.

Other than that, not much is happening this weekend. I am being kind to myself by trying not to overdo things.

 

3 Responses to "…And I’m Home Again…"

Yikes. If I have a question like that, I call the public health nurse. 24 hours, free, staffed by registered nurses. Yay Canada, I guess. That’s awful you have to pay for that. 😦

We don’t have those in the US. Theoretically, I could see if my insurance has an info line, but in my experience those take a while to get through, and the info you get is more along the lines of “Go to an ER,” which was certainly not what was needed in this instance.

I hadn’t noticed your post about the hospital trip till now. Given the chances to get sick in the typical hospital, you’re probably better off out as soon as it’s at all reasonable.

That sounds like a nice use of technology to deal with medical issues!

Leave a Reply

