Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Quick Update

Posted on: April 10, 2014


Had my first follow-up appointment yesterday – the Cardiologist. He’s mostly pleased with where I am, and that I have not had another A-fib incident. Sadly, I also had my first encounter with stairs; the stairs to his office, which is also my primary care guy’s office are fairly steep, and the handholds are wobbly. But I made it up the stairs and into the office. Getting on the examination table was another story, however. I have trouble doing that even when I’m in good health with all the weight lost. That little shelf for your feet is too small to turn comfortably on and there was no way it was happening today. I rolled the office chair to the side of the room with the blood pressure cuff, so that could get done. When the cardiologist came in, he told the nurse she could do my EKG from a sitting position, so I rolled the chair to the other side of the table, and we did that. So far, I seem to be on track.

When I got home, I called the Visiting Nurse Service, because I hadn’t heard from the Physical Therapist they were supposedly getting for me, nor had I heard anything further about the Home Health Aide. The Home Health Aide is still in the application stage, so that’s that for the moment. However, I have been approved for a Physical Therapist, and they are just trying to find one to assign to me. I’m not taking bets on whether I manage to get myself rehabilitated (Thank you, Arlo Guthrie!) before they assign me one or not, though.

Today is my second follow up – my primary care guy.  Willpost more later, if any news.

2 Responses to "Quick Update"

Hope you don’t have to go with Obie to the police officer station for your rehabilitation! LOL

I knew someone would get that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

