Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Getting Better Every Day…

Posted on: April 29, 2014


I saw the neurologist today. I have some neuropathy in my hands and feet, which I knew. Part of it is from some arthritis in my neck, part of it is from damage to the cubital nerve (which controls the ring and pinky fingers); re my feet, part of it is from the sciatica, part from damage at the L5 S1 location (lower spine). He wrote me a referral to a PT for when I am cleared to exercise.

Naomi, who drove me, and I went to lunch at an inexpensive Chinese place that does hand-pulled noodles. We had the hand-pulled noodles with pork chop, done as a stir-fry, with lovely fresh veggies.

Tomorrow is my followup with the surgeon. I hope he is as pleased with my progress as the visiting nurse, the PT, the cardiologist, and my primary care guy are (not to mention myself).

The bad news is that I still can’t travel far enough to go to Merav’s wedding, but she noted that she would be willing to not have me dance at her wedding in order to have me around for the next 25 years (the surgeon says that my heart should now be good until around 85 years of age) or so. However, I am still on track to be recovered enough to run security at Contata, which makes me happy.

I have now seen the PT twice, a lovely young lady named Joanna. She has me doing squats and leg lifts, and walking back and forth between my room and the front of the house. The results are that I don’t seem to need my cane any more, although I will take my staff to Contata, just in case. And, today I was able to walk the half a bl0ck from where Naomi got parking to the restaurant for lunch.

What is interesting to me is that the more I am willing to be accountable for taking care of my recovery, the faster I am recovering. Mind, in this case accountability not only means doing what the PT and my doctors say; it also means being kind to myself, and not pushing myself until I drop.

So, that’s where things are at the moment.

 

 

4 Responses to "Getting Better Every Day…"

The bad news is that I still can’t travel far enough to go to Merav’s wedding, but she noted that she would be willing to not have me dance at her wedding in order to have me around for the next 25 years

This! +1,000,000.

You do know I will be there in spirit, so just imagine me making wisecracks at the worst possible moment.

yay for continuing improvement through the right mix of rest and PT!

Indeed. I’m feeling much more like myself these days.

Leave a Reply

