Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

The Journey Continues…

Posted on: May 7, 2014


Since I last wrote, I’ve seen the surgeon for a follow up, had the home visits from the PT that my insurance would cover, and had my second follow up with the cardiologist. Everyone is pretty pleased with my progress, but there are a few changes in the works.

First, I am walking more. I have gone from about 300 steps a day to about 680 steps a day (average as noted on FitBit). This is pleasing, although I wish I could do more already. However, I can get in and out of my sister’s van now, which I couldn’t do for months before the surgery.

This morning, the cardiologist and I discussed bringing my blood pressure down. When I was doing nothing but lying around all day, it was fine, but as I have become more active, it has started rising again, which the cardiologist tells me is my body starting to come back to its version of normal. We agree that I need to start the diuretic again, but he is easing me into it, which works for me. He noted that I have a left branch bundle block, which basically means that the “electricity” i my body is going slightly lower on the left side tan the right. We will watch it, but so long as I remain asymptomatic, its just something to know is there. Also, the heart murmur is much reduced, but it may never go away entirely. Again, something to keep an eye on, but nothing to worry about unless I start showing symptoms or it starts getting worse.

When I am off the amiodarone in another week, I will be looking into cardiac rehab places near me, so that I can continue to build my stamina. I am continuing to try to go out a bit, and extend my walking range, which is progressing, although not as fast as I’d like. The main thing is that I have to remember to stop when I need to, and not to try to push my way through to the point where I burn out. For me, that is hard. I’m used to pushing way past my comfort zone in order to get stuff done, and I just cannot do that now, or I could screw all the progress I have made.

As far as work goes, I have been accepted for a project I want very much to work on, so that is good. I am starting at the minimum due each week, and will build up to doing more.

Anyway, that is what is happening at the moment. If anyone is local to me and wants to do something, or even wants to just come over and hang out, or walk to the park with me, that would be most welcome, since the largest obstacle to my recovery is me sitting around all day.

Leave a Reply

