Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Progress of a sort…

Posted on: July 16, 2016


Well, it’s been a while since my last post, but I’ve been trying my damnedest to do what’s necessary to get the hell out of this rehab and back to my apartment. I miss the cats; I miss the Friday dinner group; mostly I miss being home where I can be comfortable.

I am now capable of getting around a bit on a walker, but I really need to be able to use just my cane to get about again, so I’m working my way toward that.My PT these days is mostly concerned with getting me to use the walker more, given that I pretty much refuse to use the wheelchair for anything but the occasional transport to and from the “gym.”

The food here is pretty much still inedible, so the Roomie and Naomi have been bringing me mostly healthy stuff to eat. Naomi even found two huge jars of artichoke hearts and another two of hearts of palm for me. As of the past Thursday, my weight is down to 242.6. I’m pretty happy about that, you can imagine. I had a great session with my coach, Robert, on Friday. One thing he acknowledged is that my action plans have been getting more specific as I am digging deeper.

So, that’s about it for now. More as it happens…

 

2 Responses to "Progress of a sort…"

Hi Deb, I know it has been a long time, but I do often think about you. I hope you will be going home soon and feeling better. Im surr you will be walking soon with just a cane. My thoughts are with you. Stay well.
Bonnie Pavone

Hi Bonnie!

It sure has been a long time, and I also think about my colleagues at FKL a lot. I spoke to the infectious disease doctor today, and he says my progress is right on target. I don’t mind the walker as much as I did the rollator – much easier to take around because it’s much lighter. Thanks for the good wishes, and
I hope you are doing well.

Best, Deb

Leave a Reply

