Food and Weight: An Ongoing Journey

Home at Last

Posted on: July 31, 2016


Got home on Wednesday the 26th, to much less than an ideal situation. For one thing, the roomie hadn’t changed the cat litter, and the place reeked. I sat down at the kitchen table, and the roomie went to get cat litter – and left me alone in a chair I discovered was too low to give me the leverage needed to get out of it. She also slammed out of the house, leaving my phone in my purse in a different room, so I couldn’t call for help.

When she got back, I managed to get the chair over to the kitchen sink, but when I tried to pull myself up the chair started sliding back. Thr roomie reacted wrong, and far too slowly, so I ended up flat on my behind on the floor. We had to call 911 to get me up, which their EMTs did easily once they got there, using one of the old dining room chairs (a bit higher than the new ones).

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful, thank the gods. Thursday was also uneventful, other than a visit from the visiting nurse so my case could be officially opened. He also decided that the dressing where the PICC line had been could finally be removed – a great relief since the Tegraderm patches were irritating my skin. The bad news was that I ended up having to postpone my follow-up appointment with my PCP because I could not confirm that I would have an aide present to help me get there and back. Unfortunately, my PCP is on vacation until August 8th, so that means a really long time until my follow-up appointment. Since the nursing home/rehab took it on themselves to change my medications a bit, this means I cannot check what they did with my PCP until then.

I have ordered some equipment through vendors on Amazon: a walker similar to the one I had at the rehab; a blood pressure monitor; a toilet seat riser (for better leverage when getting off the toilet); and a bedpan for emergencies.

I can get in and out of my bed, although it takes a bit more energy than I am happy about. Still, the major issue seems to be that my hamstrings are taking their sweet time in restretching to a usable position. Since PT and yoga should take care of that, though, I am not *too* worried about it.

Still, it’s good to be home. I have my stuff, and the cats, and my bed is a heck of a lot more comfy than the one in the home/rehab. Visitors and calls are welcome since I’m not really mobile yet. I expect to get back to doing the Friday dinners as soon as I can be sure of being able to get out of restaurant chairs.

I finally got to weigh myself for this week on Saturday. I was pleasantly surprised to find my weight was 230.2 lbs. Given that I knew already that the previous weight (at the home, with a not-properly-charged lift scale) was wrong, this was not exactly a surprise but was pleasant nonetheless.

So, here is a toast to being home, and to future progress!

Leave a Reply

